Greece Guide


Posted by greeceguide on December 3, 2008

Greece is a parliamentary democracy. At the head of state stands president, who is elected by parliament for a five-year term. Parliament has legislative authority and the president. Parliament consists of 300 parliamentarians elected for a four-year term.

Under the new rules for 260 seats in parliament are allocated in the system of proportional representation, and the remaining 40 automatically transferred to the lot, which had won the largest number of votes.

Executive power is exercised government and the president. Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President of the State, which refers to the party holding an absolute majority in parliament or a relative majority. The government must obtain a vote of confidence in parliament.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: